Doing something great after school

photo by https://pixabay.com/en/horse-race-hippodrome-horses-1665688/

When I’m out of school, the problem I want to solve is the neglect of retired racehorses. I have always loved animals since I was little. It has always upset me to read about animal abuse in the paper or watch a story about it on the tv. I want to open and run a sanctuary for retired race horses. After race horses are done racing, they are really only valuable for breeding purposes.  They are expected to produce the next generation of racers.  If the horse was not a winner, or didn’t earn enough money, they are no longer useful to the owner.  When racehorses are no longer useful, they are usually sent to slaughter.

 

 

photo by https://pixabay.com/en/ranch-sunset-farm-landscape-rural-2699080/

Since keeping horses on a farm is expensive, I would want to try and rehabilitate them to be jumpers or dressage horses. I would want a large stretch of land with many pastures to let the horses graze. I would also like some barns and an arena to train in. If I am going to accept donations, I will have to set up a charity to accept them. I would also need a website with stories and pictures so people can donate or adopt. The goal of the sanctuary would be to help the horses learn a new skill and get them into loving homes. I would try to educate the public about owning horses and the right way to care for them.

More Info :

The Retired Racehorse Project

Second Stride

Leave a Reply